Saturday, November 28, 2015

Brookes Brothers feat. Danny Byrd - Climb High

Every now and then two musical geniuses lock themselves away in a studio, deprive themselves of the outside world and knock their heads together to produce a magical musical moment. This is the story of the Brookes Brothers and Danny Byrd. Having previously collaborated together on ‘Gold Rush’, ‘Get On It’, and ‘Paperchase’, the Brookes Brothers and Danny Byrd are no stranger to each other.

Both producers need little introduction as they have been a staple in the Drum & Bass world for the better part of a decade, mixing up soulful grooves with hard hitting club tracks. The Brookes Brothers (Dan & Phil), have previously remixed tracks for the likes of Nero, Chase & Status, Le Youth, Crystal Fighters and Storm Queen, as well as their previous two singles on Viper, ‘Carry Me On’ and ‘Anthem’ gaining huge support across the globe and playlist status on BBC Radio 1 & 1Xtra.

Danny Byrd, another master in uplifting, garage-inspired D&B is one of the original Hospital Records exclusive artists, signing to the label all the way back in 1999. Having remixed the likes of Swedish House Mafia, Flux Pavilion & Example, Plan B, Enter Shikari, and Stanton Warriors, along with releasing three massive albums in the form of ‘Golden Ticket’, ‘Rave Digger’, and ‘Supersized’, Danny Byrd is a house-hold name for any Drum & Bass head.

While many try to create that perfect cross over Drum & Bass track, ‘Climb High’ is one of the few that get it right. Uplifting synths, funky stabs and hooky vocals - but when the bass drops it all comes together. Quality production, endless energy, and that all round feel goodness.


Spotify Exclusive:




Rene LaVice -Play With Fire

Out Now on Ram Records

The seminal second album from Rene LaVice shows a commitment not only to musical
diversity, but also his chartered growth as an artist. One of the most creatively unique journeys that any LP has offered from the Ram Records camp, it pedestals music which has been present throughout sets from the past year. Whether that’s been on the stages of Las Vegas’ EDC, championed by revered label head Andy C, or at Download Festival, Glastonbury and during support slots for The Prodigy by Rene himself, there are stand out tracks which fans have already been made familiar with on dancefloors across the globe. And the wait for their release has been met with baited breath.

Already hitting airwaves with debut album ‘Insidious’, which received Radio1 airplay from Annie Mac, Nick Grimshaw and Mistajam, the follow up has received support from the likes of Beats1 mogul Zane Lowe and MTV. ‘The Calling’ found itself nestled on Radio1’s daytime playlists, whilst rock-inspired ‘Part of Me’ was premiered on iTunes biggest streaming platform.

From the slamming 808s of the aptly named ‘Fook it’, to the indie, vocal lead crescendos of ‘Wave’, Rene clearly smashes a prototype throughout the LP’s entirety. You’re also reintroduced to Radio1 A-list record ‘The Calling’, as well as dancefloor detonator ‘Air Force One’ and an array of other singles which have set the album’s precedent. Plenty of fresh new cuts add to the impressive track listing, with opening track ‘Lights Outs’ featuring the rasp of David Boomah and clunking reece bass, whilst album closer ‘Riot All Right’ ends on Rene’s own signature voice notes.

Merging together so many stylistic features, taken from an array of influences, this album presents a multi-levelled approach to music making, drawing not just from electronic music but also genres celebrated worldwide. ‘Play with Fire’ will stand as one of the most pivotal release in not only Rene’s discography, but also across drum & bass as a whole… A ground breaking set of records which prove the genre’s development, from the jungle breaks of the 90’s, to its adaption to the contemporary world.

Wednesday, November 25, 2015

100 Dollar Bill Ya'll -Frankee More Remix-Free Tune

Frankee More

Gives Ice Cube

A Ghettofunk Refix

Get on it its Free

Rory Hoy - Fonkee Muzik

If you like your beats big, your music funky and just want to dance around 

This is for you! 

If you like your horns, horny 

 Then check out the title track (Fonkee Muzik)

If you like your House, Filtered and Funky, then check out ‘Filtered Luv’ 

If you like your Disco sending you into a frisco, than check out ‘Disco Hood’ 

You Got The Power- Ewan Hoozami Edit - Free Tune

Ewan Hoozami

Drops a bit of Disco Funk

Get on This Edit

Its Free

Tuesday, November 24, 2015

Matrix & Futurebound - Happy Alone

Following their Top 10 hit ‘Control’, drum & bass duo Matrix & Futurebound commence a new deal with FFRR with the single ‘Happy Alone’ which impacts on November 20th.

Featuring vocals from the American musician V. Bozeman who recently featured in the hit TV show Empire and has previously collaborated with Timbaland, ‘Happy Alone’ erupts from Bozeman’s soulful, piano-backed introduction into a rush of uplifting drum & bass.

Prior to teaming up in 2007, both members had enjoyed success in their own right. Matrix first broke through with the techno-infused ‘Sleepwalk’ album on Virus Recordings before crashing into the charts at #6 with ‘It’s Love (Trippin’)’ under his house pseudonym GoldTrix. Meanwhile, Futurebound built his reputation on labels such as Moving Shadow, Infrared and Timeless before launching the influential Viper Recordings in 2004.

The duo’s first album together, 2007’s ‘Universal Truth’, offered a skilful fusion of epic melodic soundscapes with heavyweight dance-floor production and original vocals.

Their chart breakthrough came with two Top 30 hits with ‘All I Know’ and ‘Magnetic Eyes’ before ‘Control’ became their biggest hit to date. The follow-up ‘Don’t Look Back’ represented their fourth consecutive track to be playlisted at Radio 1.

The pair have subsequently delivered major remixes including Oliver Heldens x Becky Hill’s ‘Gecko (Overdrive)’ and Tinie Tempah / Jess Glynne’s ‘Not Letting Go’ (both #1 hits) plus Eric Prydz’s ‘Liberate’, Seven Lions’ ‘Strangers’ and Labrinth’s ‘Let It Be’. Creamfields, Global Gathering, Secret Garden Party, Nocturnal Festival, Let It Roll and Brixton Academy have been just some of the highlights of their many live shows.

Matrix & Futurebound also currently host a monthly show on Capital Xtra.

Leeroy Thornhill - Burn The House Down [Menu Music]

Menu Music latest release comes from legend in the dance; Leeroy Thornhill. With a musical career spanning back to the early nineties starting out with The Prodigy then breaking out to an artists in his own right. Leeroy’s toured the world and seen it all.

Burn The House Down is without a doubt one Leeroy’s strongest releases to date. Fighting all pigeon hole accusations, BTHD crosses all styles with its feet firmly stomping on the dance floor with its quirky bass & crazy bleeps and beats.

Flip over for the Jason Laidback remix and you’ll get a striped back dirty riddim with steppy Garage beats and ground breaking subs.

// LINKS //


/// MENU MUSIC Online ///